The Catholic University of America

Faculty Directory

Leadership

Kules, Bill

Kules, Bill
Associate Professor and Chair (on leave 2015-16)
kules@cua.edu | 202-319-5085

Courses taught:
Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers 
Internet Searches and Web Design 
Programming for Web Applications
Design and Production of Multimedia
User Interface Design and Evaluation

Curriculum Vitae

John Convey

Convey, John
Ordinary Professor and Interim Co-Chair
convey@cua.edu | 202-319-5085

Courses taught:
Methods and Materials in Modern Elementary Mathematics
Teaching Mathematics in Middle School and High School
Intro Statistics for Behavioral Science
Experimental Design
Apps of Multivariate Analysis
Theory & Construction of Assessment Instruments
Applied Regression Analysis
Research on Catholic Schools
Social Data Analysis

Hsieh- Yee, Ingrid

Hsieh-Yee, Ingrid
Ordinary Professor and Interim Co-Chair
hsiehyee@cua.edu202-319-5085

Courses taught:
Cataloging and Classification
Health Sciences Literature
Organization of Information
Internet Searches and Web Design; Tools and Technologies
Advanced Cataloging and Classification
Organization of Internet Resources
Use and Users of Libraries and Information

Curriculum Vitae

Full Time Faculty

Chancellor, Renate

Chancellor, Renate
Assistant Professor
chancellor@cua.edu | 202-319-6272

Courses taught:
Information Sources and Services
Libraries and Information in Society
Advanced Legal Research
Legal Literature
Oral History

Curriculum Vitae

Choi, Youngok

Choi, Youngok
Associate Professor
choiy@cua.edu | 202-319-6275

Courses taught:
Organization of Information,
Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers
Foundations of Digital Libraries
Organization of Internet Resources

Curriculum Vitae

Kim, Sung Un

Kim, Sung Un
Assistant Professor
kimi@cua.edu | 202-319-6040

Courses taught:
Administration of School Library Media Programs
Media Integration in the Curriculum
Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers

Curriculum Vitae

Shumaker, David

Shumaker, David
Clinical Associate Professor
shumaker@cua.edu | 202-319-5551

Courses taught:
Information Sources and Services
Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers
Management
Marketing
Use and Users of Libraries and Information

Curriculum Vitae

Sue Yeon Syn

Syn, Sue Yeon
Assistant Professor
syn@cua.edu | 202-319-6277

Courses taught:
Organization of Information
Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers 
Information Architecture and Web Design
User Interface Design and Evaluation

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Jane Zhang

Zhang, Jane
Assistant Professor
zhangj@cua.edu | 202-319-5824

Courses taught:
Electronic Records Management
Archives Management
Metadata
Digital Curation

Curriculum Vitae

Adjunct Faculty

Bourgoin, Marisa
Head of Reference Services, Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
E-Mail: bourgoin@cua.edu
Course Taught: ASpecial Collections

Braun, Matthew
Legal Reference Librarian, Law Librarian of Congress
E-Mail: mbra@loc.gov
Courses Taught: Advanced Legal Research

Brown, Patricia

Brown, Patricia
Manager, Library Media Services, DC Public Schools
E-mail: brownpe@cua.edu
Course Taught: Media Services
Design and Production of Multimedia for PK-12 Instruction and Media for Young Adults
Areas of Interest: School library media, Advocacy, Diversity

Dando, Priscille
E-Mail: dando@cua.edu
Course Taught: Media Integration in the Curriculum

Dembeck, Terri 
Senior Healthcare Strategy Consultant, Noblis
E-mail: Dembeck@cua.edu
Course Taught: Health Project Management
 

DeSimone, Daniel
Eric Weinmann Librarian
Folger Shakespeare Library
Courses Taught: Rare Books
 

Dimunation, Mark
Chief, Rare Book Division, Library of Congress
Email: dimunation@cua.edu
Course Taught: Rare Books

 

Elings, Mary W.
Archivist for Digital Collections of The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley
Email: melings@library.berkeley.edu
Courses Taught: Special Topics in Librarianship: Institute on Digital Collections in Libraries, Archives, and Museums

Fitzgerald, Michael
Electronic Services Librarian, Learning Resources Division, University of the District of Columbia
Courses Taught: Information Systems in Libraries and Information Centers
 

Ford, Kevin

Ford, Kevin
Digital Project Coordinator, Network Development and MARC Standards Office, Library of Congress
E-mail: kefo@3windmills.com
Course Taught: Metadata
Areas of Interest: Metadata, information systems, library technology, authority control, web services, dogs

Galla, Bernie 
CIO at Howard University Health Sciences
Email: galla@cua.edu
Course Taught: Health Information Technology: Security & Data Exchange

 



 

Gillispie, James
Head, Access Services, and GIS and Data Services, Sheridan Libraries, Johns Hopkins University
Email:  gillispie@cua.edu
Course Taught: Research Methods


 

Gorham, Ursula
E-Mail: gorhamoscilowski@cua.edu"
Classes Taught: Research Methods for Library and Information Science

 Areas of Interest: E-government; libraries and public policy; social justice

Stephen Greenberg

 
Greenberg, Stephen
Rare Books Librarian
E-mail: greenberg@cua.edu
Course Taught: History of the Book
 

Kevin Gunn

Gunn, Kevin
Coordinator of Religious Studies and Humanities Services, Mullen Library – Catholic University of America
Email: gunn@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Humanities Information, Special Topics in Librarianship: Digital Humanities
Areas of Interest: humanities research, digital humanities, information ethics, philosophy of librarianship

Harris, Lesley Ellen
Courses taught: LSC 884: Copyright & Licensing Institute
www.copyrightlaws.com
Email: lesley@copyrightlaws.com
 

Hock, Randolph

Hock, Randolph
Consultant and Author, Online Strategies
Email: ran@onstrat.com
Courses Taught: Internet Searches and Web Design, Design and Production of Multimedia
Areas of Interest: Internet for research, search engines, website design, OSINT (Open Source Intelligence), information quality

Barrie Howard

Howard, Barrie
Program Management Coordinator, National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program
E-Mail: bhow@loc.gov
Classes Taught: Libraries Technology and Project Management
Areas of Interest: Grants, Leadership, Project Management, Strategic Planning

 

Hulse, Bruce
Director of Information Services, WRLC
E-Mail: hulse@wrlc.org
Classes Taught: Management, Database Management

 

Killam, Bill

Killam, Bill
President and Senior Human Factors Engineer,User-Centered Design, Inc.
Email: killam.b@gmail.com
Courses Taught: User Interface Design and Evaluation

Karen Marsh King

King, Karen Marsh
Library Director, Darden Graduate Business Library - University of Virginia
E-Mail: mkingk@darden.virginia.edu
Courses Taught:Information Sources and Services, Technical Services, Management, Social Science Information, Business Information
Areas of Interest:Library Administration Technical Services Reference Services Business Research

Kish, Sherry
Sr. Cataloging Librarian
Ralph J. Bunche Library, U.S. Dept. of State
Email: skish1@juno.com
Courses Taught: Advanced Cataloging

Bill Klenke

Klenke, Bill
Senior Healthcare Strategy Consultant, Noblis
E-mail: klenke@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Health Care Policy, Organization and Financing; Health Project Management

Lammay, Beverly

Lammay, Beverly
Coordinator of Community Relations, Henrico County Public Schools
Email: lammay@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Practicum (Coordinator)
Areas of Interest: Public libraries, marketing of libraries

Leadbitter, Elizabeth H.
E-Mail: leadbitter@cua.edu
Course Taught:Practicum

Ya-Ling Lu

Lu, Ya-Ling
E-mail: luy@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Research Methods in Library and Information Science, Use and Users of Library and Information

Masias, Michelle
E-Mail: masias@cua.edu
Course Taught:Federal Libraries Institute

McNair, Ellen
E-Mail: mcnair@cua.edu
Classes Taught: Design and Production of Multimedia
 

Muller, Pat
E-Mail: mullerp@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Practicum
Areas of Interest: Strategic planning, training, outcome-based evaluation, early literacy development, and young adult services

Putnam, Nathan

Putnam, Nathan
Head, Metadata Services, McKeldin Library, University of Maryland
Email: putnamn@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Music Bibliography, Cataloging and Classification
Areas of Interest: Cataloging, technical services, descriptive metadata, databases, information systems

Ritter, Kimberly
E-Mail: ritter@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Media for Young Adults, Media for Children

Bruce Rosenstein

Rosenstein, Bruce
Author; Managing Editor, Leader to Leader
Email: rosensteinbruce@gmail.com
Courses Taught: The Special Library/Information Center
Areas of Interest: Special Libraries / Information Centers, Management / Organizations, Self-development of knowledge workers, Leadership, News media

Ross, Abigail Ellsworth
Informational Resources Manager, Keller and Heckman LLP
E-Mail: afeross@hotmail.com
Course Taught:Law Librarianship
Areas of Interest:Library Marketing (both promotional and creative), Training in Library Research Skills, Legal Research

Alison Scott

Scott, Alison 
Head of Collection Development, George Washington University Libraries (2013)
E-mail: scottb@cua.edu
Course Taught: Collection Development
Areas of Interest: History of the book in 19th-century America and libraries as knowledge communities

Short, Stephen
Library of Congress
Email: shorts@cua.edu
Course Taught: Systems Analysis and Evaluation

Nancy Silcox

Silcox, Nancy
School Library Media Practicum Coordinator
Email: silcox@cua.edu
Course Taught: School Library Media Practicum

Jerry Simmons

Simmons, Jerry
Archives Specialist for Data Standards/ NARA Authority Team Lead National Archives
E-Mail: cjerrysimmons@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Indexing and Abstracting, Special collections 

Vanessa Haight Smith

Smith, Vanessa
E-Mail: HaightV@si.edu
Libraries Book Conservator, Preservation Services Department, Smithsonian Institution
Courses Taught: Preservation
 

Stokes, Sally

Stokes, Sally
Email: stokessally@yahoo.com
Courses Taught: Art and Museum Librarianship; History and Theory of Cultural Heritage Institutions
Areas of Interest: Art and museum Librarianship; architectural history and preservation; British and American children's literature of the mid-20th Century; religion in America; database design

Prof. Tieso

Tieso, John 
Email: tieso@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Enterprise Architecture
Systems Analysis & Design


 

Voss, Ann
Head Librarian, Fairfax High School
Email: aovoss@fcps.edu
Courses Taught: The School Library Media Center, Media for Children
Areas of Interest: School Libraries, K-12

Gwen Vredevoogd

Vredevoogd, Gwen
Collection DevelopmentLibrarian, Associate Professor, Marymount University
Email: gvredevoogd@gmail.com 
Course Taught: Collection Development 

 

Todd Weaver

Weaver, Todd 
Research Librarian, Jones Day
Email: weavert@cua.edu
Course Taught: Advanced Legal Research
Areas of Interest: Legal Research, Law Librarianship

Weeks, Joan
Instruction Librarian, Instructional Design and Training Division – Library of Congress
Email: weeks@cua.edu
Courses Taught: Internet Searches and Web Design; Online-Line Information Retrieval; Information Literacy
Areas of Interest: E-learning, Web Design, Computer Instruction, Information Resource Management

Prof Wilson

Wilson, Amanda
E-Mail: librarian.amandajwilson@gmail.com
Courses Taught: Technical Services
Libraries and Information in Society